ANJA SICKING - FERRARI'S IN HEAVEN (2016)

ABOUT THE BOOK

The five family members in this book – a father, mother, two daughters and a son – are looking for love and intimacy. In each other, but later on, also in others.  Sometimes they think they found love, but before they know it love has shifted shape. Like themselves. Sharp as a razor Anja Sicking bares their fears and desires and weaves their individual stories into a moving and funny portait of an extraordinary family, in all its ordinariness. 

GOOD TO KNOW

* Brilliantly composed and edited family history, spanning almost 50 years.

* A disfunctional family to love, in the tradition of The Corrections and Little Miss Sunshine.

* Previous titles have sold abroad: The Silent Sin was sold to Marion Boyars in the UK, and to publishers in Germany and Turkey and was on the longlist of theInternational IMPAC Dublin Literary Award. 

* Earlier books got lots of praise by the media and were nominated for and awarded many literary prizes.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Anja Sicking (1965) made her debut with The Keuris Quartet, which was nominated for the Debutant Prize and the prestigious AKO Literary Award. She won the Marten Toonder/Geertjan Lubberhuizen Prize. Her second novel The Silent Sin was nominated for the first BNG-prize. In 2009 her novel The Ten Laws of Seduction was published. 

QUOTES

The virtuous subtitle ‘a family history’ or the flap text ‘five family members in search of love’ suggest that this is a book without an edge. Nevertheless, the book deals, in a subtle manner, with characters that will harm each other in order to remain within the circle of normality, whilst living in a time and country that leaves ample room to break this spell. ****NRC Handelsblad on Ferrari's in Heaven

‘What makes The Silent Sin a clever book is the way Sicking molds Anna, in her own words,  into such a tragic figure.’ Pieter Steinz in NRC Handelsblad

SOCIAL

Facebook

Website

CONTACT

Lebowski Publishers / Oscar van Gelderen

E: oscar.vangelderen@lebowskipublishers.nl

T: + 31 6 46096823